Go to main content

University of Silesia in Katowice

  • Polski
  • English
Faculty of Social Sciences
Logo European City of Science 2024

Institute of Psychology

Director of the Institute of Psychology

Irena Pilch, PhD, DLitt, Associate Professor


Deputy Director of the Institute of Psychology

Ewa Wojtyna, PhD, Associate Professor

The Institute of Psychology is a part of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

The Institute employs 33 research and teaching staff members, including two full professors, five doctors of letters, 19 doctors, and seven masters of arts.

The young and ambitious team is a great advantage of the Institute. In 2018, 11 staff members obtained their doctorate degrees, and nine doctoral dissertations were awarded with distinction. A large proportion of the Faculty is composed of researchers-practitioners, including psychotherapists, health psychologists and occupational psychologists, therefore both primary and applied research is carried out.

Aside from research in the classical fields (such as general, organisational, economic, health, social, clinical, and forensic psychology), research is conducted in the fields of cyberpsychology, family psychology, reproductive psychology, music psychology, moral psychology, evolutionary psychology, survival psychology, and psychosexology.

The staff of the Institute of Psychology cooperate closely with Polish, European, and American university researchers, which allows for a rapid increase in the number of scientific publications in renowned foreign scientific journals.

The staff also carry out grants (scientific and educational) from The National Science Centre and The National Centre for Research and Development. A laboratory is used in the research, enabling experimental and longitudinal study by means of experience sampling.


A bit of history:

8 June 1968 – By the resolution of the of the Council of Ministers, through merging the Higher School of Pedagogy (Wyższa Szkoła Pedagogiczna) and the Branch of the Jagiellonian University, the University of Silesia is established. Prof. Kazimierz Popiołek becomes the Rector of the newly established University. University of Silesia at the time included the following four faculties: Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, Faculty of Law and Administration and Faculty of Technology.

26 June 1969 – The Institute of Pedagogy and Psychology is established as a part of the Faculty of Humanities.

16 August 1973 – The Institute of Pedagogy and Psychology becames a part of the newly established Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of Silesia.

29 July 1974 – The Institute of Pedagogy and Psychology splits into two independent institutes: the Institute of Pedagogy and the Institute of Psychology.

30 September 1976 – By the resolution of the Minister of Science, Higher Education and Technology, the new (eighth) Faculty of Pedagogy and Psychology of University of Silesia is established. Henryk Gąsior, PhD,  becomes the Dean of the Faculty, with the office in the old school building located at ul. Tyszki 53 (currently Grażyńskiego 53) in Katowice.

1978 – The Faculty of Pedagogy and Psychology is given the right to confer the degree of doctor of humanities.

1981-1993 – The existing structure of the Faculty is changed, institutes are dissolved, and departaments are created in their place.

1995-1996 – The Faculty undergoes another structural change. Institutes are reinstated, and within them operate the existing departments.

On 1 October 2018 the new act – the Law on Higher Education and Science enters into force. The Institute of Psychology becomes a part of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Strona: https://us.edu.pl/instytut/ip/

return to top