Go to main content

University of Silesia in Katowice

  • Polski
  • English

European University | Transform4Europe

logo t4e

The University of Silesia in Katowice, together with six universities from abroad, forms a prestigious European University as part of Transform4Europe alliance. The universities have got together to conduct joint scientific research at the highest level and educate young people within international study programmes. They will also create a common multilingual campus in order to take care of the future of their own regions, countries and the entire Europe.

„Transform4Europe – T4E: The European University for Knowledge Entrepreneurs” project is a challenge that we have undertaken together with the employees, doctoral students and students of the following universities: Saarland University (consortium leader), University of Alicante, Estonian Academy of Arts, St. Kliment Ohridski Sofia University, University of Trieste and Vytautas Magnus University. We will jointly create one big European campus located in Poland, Bulgaria, Estonia, Spain, Germany, Lithuania, and Italy.

Transform4Europe | European University of the future

joint international study programmes and innovative education

interdisciplinary scientific research and intensive academic exchange

multilingual campus, including the use of common infrastructure

cooperation with the region based on the implementation of jointly developed solutions

Grafika przedstawiająca mapę Europy wraz z zaznaczonymi siedmioma miastami, w których znajdują się partnerskie Uniwersytety: 1 – Saarland (Niemcy), 2 – Alicante (Hiszpania), 3 – Talin (Estonia), 4 – Katowice (Polska), 5 – Kowno (Bułgaria), 6 – Triest (Włochy), 7 – Kowno (Litwa)

Transform4Europe | Partner universities

cyfra 1 Saarland University from Saarbrücken (leader, Germany)
cyfra 2 University of Alicante (Spain)
cyfra 3 Estonian Academy of Arts in Tallinn (Estonia)
cyfra 4 University of Silesia in Katowice (Poland)
cyfra 5 St. Kliment Ohridski Sofia University (Bulgaria)
cyfra 6 University of Trieste (Italy)
cyfra 7 Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas (Lithuania)

Power of transformation

Although the partner universities are located in four different parts of Europe, each of them has a very strong and well-established position in the region – this is what we all have in common. But that’s not all. There is also an idea that connects the 7 universities – we all believe in the power of transformation.

We trust that each of us may have an impact on the future of our surroundings thanks to the active attitude. Universities may also influence their environments by providing solutions and tools based on the state-of-the-art knowledge, responding to the most important civilisational challenges.

These challenges particularly include climate change, digital revolutions, migration flows, society ageing and community crisis, as well as the current situation related to the coronavirus pandemic, which is new for all of us.


  • digital transformation and smart regions,
  • environmental transformation and sustainability,
  • societal transformation, community building and inclusion.
Table with four terms: T4E individual mindset, T4E University, T4E Region, T4E Europe

In accordance with the strategy for a European Education Area, the T4EU approach is completed by the following transversal components:

  • key competences for lifelong learning,
  • digital skills, multilingualism and intercultural competencies,
  • common values and inclusive education.

Things to know

Flaga Unii Europejskiej

The European Universities competition was organised by the European Commission in order to strengthen the academic exchange, modern education and research potential, and consequently the international competitiveness of European universities. The concept of university network with joint study programmes, diplomas and campuses was originated by Emmanuel Macron, President of France, who presented his vision in 2017 during the speech delivered at Paris-Sorbonne University (material in French).

Currently, the initiative consists of 41 consortia, including 11 Polish universities. The strategies and planned actions will be implemented thanks to financial support under ERASMUS+ and Horizon 2020 programmes. The programme beneficiaries will receive funding in the total amount of EUR 287 million. The University of Silesia in Katowice, as part of Transform4Europe transnational alliance, joined the group of competition beneficiaries in July 2020.

T4EU Team

Zdjęcie portretowe prof. Tomasza Pietrzykowskiego. Fot. Julia Agnieszka Szymala




Zdjęcie portretowe prof. Małgorzaty Myśliwiec. Fot. Julia Agnieszka Szymala

Assoc. Prof. MAŁGORZATA MYŚLIWIEC, Professor of the University of Silesia



Transform4Europe Office

ul. Bankowa 12, room 78
40-007 Katowice
Phone no. 48 32 359 23 92 | +48 32 359 23 94

Zdjęcie rektoratu fot. Julia Agnieszka Szymala
photo by the University of Silesia

How to get to us

return to top